Why the United States is going to the dogs….

www.textsfromlastnight.com

“Some guy shouted fuck america during the national anthem, i decked him. They threw him out. USA USA USA!”

If one of the signs of the apocalypse could be a web site I think this is a sign. Don’t get me wrong, I think the site is hilarious.

my math teacher staples burger king applications to failed tests

Some say that these texts are fake but even so they show what the people in the states are thinking while bettering themselves while at university and or college.

Now some of these quotes/texts are just down right entertaining. They reflect situation most of us have experience in some shape or another. Simple drunk harmless stories. 

This is a mass text. Does anyone know where I am?

And really these stories don’t concern me. However there are texts here that show a frightening side of things. Very similar to the fictional setting of the Bret Easton Ellis novel “Less than Zero”.

“I asked a girl to buy her a drink, she had I have a boyfriend, so I said, well i have a goldfish, she said what? I replied, oh I’m sorry I thought we were talking about shit that doesnt matter.”

Bret Easton Ellis writes with a style that when you read it your not sure if he’s telling you about a true story or a bad dream he had the night before.  “Less than Zero:” focuses on the main character who enjoys their winter break by having crazy sex with men and women the whole time doing as much drugs as he can mange.  Fine if its fiction but after reading the samples from this web page I am not sure that his story is fiction.

“I’m a gentlemen, chivalry is what i do, i’ll open the door, pull out your chair, buy your drinks, i’ll even go down first, but when it comes to mario kart, i draw the line. I’m sorry but i just can’t let you beat me at mario kart”

I would appear that the people sending their texts in want to live the twisted American dream that Ellis shows us in his writing.  I don’t blame Ellis or the Web masters they are just reflecting society.

“The mexican place next the the funeral home has dollar margaritas, our grandfather would want us to act on this… trust me i know.”

Now I am not saying we should ban this site or others like it I.E. www.peopleofwalmart.com .  What I am just saying if there ever was a sign…

“I’d steal beers with my tail. If I were a monkey.”


This entry was posted in The Net. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

